Sonny G (Guagliardo), Chicago Jazz vocalist, CD features Joey DeFrancesco & Tom Muellner. Photos by Bill Klewitz. On Proteus Entertainment.

Macedonian Blues CD - Proteus Entertainment - Fareed Haque & Goran Ivanovic


I'll Be Laughing Tonight

Artist Website:

Sonny G. is having the time of his life! He recently made his recording debut at the age of 67, singing the songs he loves with top musicians, making a set of standards and a few obscurities sound as if they were written for him. The joy he feels for the music is obvious and his sensitive interpretations display a deep understanding of the lyrics he sings.

Sonny G. is joined by organist Joey DeFrancesco on six numbers, pianist Tom Muellner on nine, guitarist Bill Klewitz, drummer Phil Gratteau are on every song, bassist Kelly Sill is on the selections on which Joey DeFrancesco does not appear. Three songs also have Sonny G. joined by horns with Bob Ojeda contributing some tasteful flugelhorn to "I Wish I Knew". Sonny G's voice is highly expressive, always in-tune, he swings at every tempo, and he does justice to all of the words that he interprets. There are spots for DeFrancesco, Muellner and Klewitz to stretch out, but the main focus is on the singer.

Born and raised in Chicago, he loved swing, standards and jazz from the time he was a child, picking up much of his musical education while listening to the radio in the 1950s. "Even when rock n roll came in during his mid-teens, he was much more interested in jazz and jazz singing. Sonny G. has sung regularly in the Chicago area with such major musicians as Joey DeFrancesco, Larry Novak, Ira Sullivan, John Campbell, Jodie Christian and Tommy Muellner.

1.  Almost Like Being in Love 
2.  I Wish I Knew Gordon/Warren 
3.  Green Dolphin Street 
4.  Everything Happens to Me 
5.  Because of You 
6.  A Time for Love 
7.  I Only Have Eyes for You 
8.  Why Try to Change Me Now 
9.  A Day in the Life of a Fool 
10. To Love You Gordon/Young
11. You Brought a New Kind of Love to Me 
12. I’ll be Laughing Tonight 
13. Sleep Warm

Recorded by Steve Yates, Morton Grove, IL

Photos by Bill Klewitz

UPC: 8 84501 00494 7

© 2008 San LG Recording Co.  (Distributed by Proteus Entertainment)

Top of Page 

Thank you for your interest and support.

Copyright 2007-2014 Proteus Entertainment Inc.

​This Recording is no longer distributed by Proteus Entertainment Inc. 
Please use the Artist link below for information regarding distribution.